T3SEO

TYPO3 and SEO since 2011

direct_mail: Prevent invoking the mailer manually

When you use direct_mail to send Newsletters regularly and in a big number you probably should use a cronjob to send the mails. But there is still an option Invoke Mailer Engine in the Mailer Engine Status module, which can be used by hand to start the mailing process. However there might be complications when a user launches the mailer simultaneously to the cronjob and both processes run through the addresses left. Fortunatelly you can disable the manual sending option.

Read more

EXT:commentsplus

When I built this blog I failed to find a good TYPO3 extension for comments. sk_pagecomments, which i chose first, was always intended to be just a temporary solution. I decided to use no spam protection because sk_pagecomments only supported Captchas that forced users to type the depicted letters. Without protection the spam soon became pretty bad and I had to turn off the comments function.

So I began to work on a modern comments extension. Today I want to present the current state of work to you.

Read more

EXT:serppreview

The connection between the description of a page (meta description) and the snippets in a Google search result page often is not obvious to online editors. The TYPO3 extension serppreview visualizes a preview of that right in the Backend and indicates whether the description will be shortened.

Read more

Shorturls for Downloading TYPO3 Sources

When installing TYPO3 on your webserver it's good to load the sources directly from Sourceforge using wget. Unfortunatelly you have to look up the long URLs first. But now you can use the following Short URLs instead.

Read more
Bringing together TYPO3 and SEO

T3SEO

TYPO3 and SEO since 2011

direct_mail: Manuelles Versenden des Newsletters verhindern

Versendet man mit direct_mail häufig und in größerer Stückzahl Newsletter wird man um die Einrichtung eines Cronjobs nicht herumkommen. Trotzdem bietet das Versandstatus Modul eine Funktion Versand anstoßen, mit dem sich der Newsletter manuell versenden lässt. Es könnte allerdings zu Komplikationen kommen, wenn ein manueller Versand zeitgleich mit dem Cronjob läuft und beide gleichzeitig die noch zu bearbeitenden Adressen in der Datenbank durchlaufen. Zum Glück lässt sich die manuelle Versandfunktion deaktivieren.

Weiterlesen

EXT:commentsplus

Beim Aufbau dieses Blogs vermisste ich schmerzlich eine gute TYPO3-Extension für Kommentare. Das von mir zunächst eingesetzte sk_pagecomments war dabei von Anfang an nur als Zwischenlösung gedacht. Weil es nur abzutippende Captcha-Zeichen als Spamschutz bietet, entschloss ich mich auf Spam-Schutz zu verzichten, was sich natürlich bald rächte, so dass die Kommentarfunktion entfernen musste.

Also begann ich mit der Arbeit an einer modernen Kommentarextension. Den Zwischenstand will ich hier präsentieren.

Weiterlesen

EXT:serppreview

Häufig ist Redakteuren der direkte Zusammenhang zwischen der einer Seite gegebenen Beschreibung (Meta-Description) und der von Google in Suchergebnissen angezeigten Snippets nicht klar. Die TYPO3-Extension serppreview führt das dem Backend-Benutzer direkt vor Augen und deutet auch an wo die Beschreibung ggf. gekürzt wird.

Weiterlesen

Shorturls für den Download von TYPO3 Sources

Um aktuelle TYPO3-Versionen auf dem Webserver zu installieren ist es praktisch und schnell die Sources per wget direkt von Sourceforge zu laden. Leider muss man dazu immer erst die langen URLs heraussuchen. Folgende Kurz-URLs sollen in Zukunft Abhilfe schaffen.

Weiterlesen
TYPO3 and SEO since 2011